MACARTHUR ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY



Incorporated.

PO Box 17 Minto NSW 2566 Email: contact@macastro.org.au

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 21 April 2008

Meeting Commenced at 7.40 pm Outgoing Secretary Robert Bee took minutes.

Present were all members noted in the attendance record for April 21, 2008 Apologies received: Nil

The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2007 (16th April 2007) were read by the Secretary. It was **moved** by John Rombi, **seconded** Kate Ross that:

'The previously read minutes be declared a true and accurate record of that meeting' The motion was **adopted** by a show of hands. No business arose from the minutes.

The President's Report was printed in Prime Focus for this meeting.

The President, John Rombi, read the report which reviewed the activities of the Society with particular emphasis on guest speakers for the year, observing sites, public outreach and thanks to committee and members for their support of him as President.

There was no Vice President's Report.

The Treasurer's Report was printed and inserted into Prime Focus. The Treasurer highlighted the overall healthy balance with a modest improvement on 2006/07's balance. It was noted the Society accounts had been audited, with thanks to Graeme Bellamy.

Motion to accept the above reports in block was **moved** by Jenny Malikoff and **seconded** by Bob Bee. The reports were **accepted** by voices.

Tony Law asked, referring to the President's Report, if Sydney University could be asked to provide a permanent key for the Forest to relieve our members from having to collect it each month. John Rombi agreed that this may be able to be pursued.

Appointment of Returning Officer - Debra Taylor

Election of Office Bearers.

Nominations previously received were handed to the returning officer. The Returning Officer declared all positions vacant **Nominations were as follows:**

President	John Rombi	Committee member	Lloyd Wright
Vice President	Daniel Ross	Committee Member	Ivan Fox
Treasurer	Dick Everett	Committee member	Stewart Grainger

No other nominations were received. There was no nomination for Secretary.

Each individual was elected by a show of hands and the sound of voices.

The new Committee was declared elected.

The elected Management Committee for 2008/09 was congratulated by the Returning Officer, and the meeting handed over to the new President.

Newly elected President John Rombi thanked Debra for acting as Returning Officer. Bob Bee spoke to the meeting encouraging members to consider nominating for committee positions in the future. He described the duties of Secretary and encouraged members to consider the position.

The AGM was declared closed at 8.10 pm.