

MACARTHUR ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY Inc.

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held at Room 5, Building 22, University of Western Sydney, Campbelltown Campus, NSW on Monday 20th April 2009

Meeting Opened 7.42 pm with John Rombi in the chair

PO Box 17, Minto, NSW 2566

1 OPENING OF MEETING

Present were all members noted in the attendance register. The Secretary, Roger Powell was appointed to take the minutes. Apologies were received from members: Bruce Reardon, Lloyd Wright and Tony Law.

2 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING: 21st APRIL 2008

The minutes were read by the Secretary, Roger Powell. <u>Motion:</u> "That the minutes be accepted as an accurate record of the 2008 Annual general meeting" moved Ian Cook, seconded Bob Bee, <u>carried</u> unanimously.

3 BUSINESS ARISING OUT OF THE MINUTES

<u>Key to the Forest cabin</u>: The committee agreed (on 5th May 2008) that the current arrangement of picking up the key suited all parties and need not change. There was no other business arising.

4 PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORTS FOR 2008-2009

<u>President's Report:</u> John Rombi presented his published report and read it to the meeting. He reviewed the Society's activities and praised each individual office bearer for their work during the year thanked all members for their commitment.

<u>Treasurer's Report</u>: Dick Everett reviewed his published annual report, stating that the Society was in good financial health. He said that in addition to the tabled report, there is approximately \$600 of goods in stock. Michael Clark asked if it is possible to improve the interest paid by our bank account. Dick advised that a higher balance is needed to achieve a higher return. John said the new Committee would review this. Auditor's Report: Graham Bellamy reviewed his auditing report.

Motion: "That the Annual Reports presented by the President, Treasurer and Auditor be accepted" moved John Rombi, seconded Dick Everett, <u>carried</u> unanimously.

5 APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER

Jenny Rombi was appointed Returning Officer.

6 ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2009-2010

Jenny Rombi took the chair and declared all positions vacant.Nominations closed on 6th April and only one nomination was received for each position. Accordingly, theywere each duly declared elected and the meeting endorsed each by acclamation. They were:<u>President:</u> John Rombi.<u>Vice-President:</u> Trevor Rhodes.<u>Secretary:</u> Roger Powell.<u>Treasurer:</u> Tony Law.<u>Committee Members:</u> Lloyd Wright, Ivan Fox and Stewart Grainger.Jenny Rombi congratulated the new committee and vacated the chair for the President, John Rombi.

7 PRESENTATION OF TEN YEAR AWARDS

Two members, Bruce Reardon and Lloyd Wright were due to receive their Ten Year Membership Awards. As both were unable to attend, the award presentation was deferred to the May General Meeting.

8 OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

9 CLOSE OF MEETING

John Rombi congratulated the new committee members and expressed his appreciation to retiring committee members Daniel Ross and Dick Everett for their long and active service. He thanked the members for attending.

The Annual General Meeting closed at 8.20 pm and members reconvened as a General Monthly Meeting.

Roger Powell Secretary 21st April 2009