

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held at Room 5, Building 22, University of Western Sydney, Campbelltown Campus, NSW on Monday 18th April 2011

1. OPENING OF MEETING, WELCOME & APOLOGIES

Following General notices, the AGM opened at 7.55 pm. Present were all members noted in the attendance register. The retiring President, John Rombi, chaired the meeting and the the outgoing Secretary, Roger Powell was appointed to take the minutes.

Apologies were received from members: Bob Bee, Allan Hobbs, Graeme Bellamy and Sarkis Garabedian.

2 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING: 19th APRIL 2010

The minutes were distributed to members prior to the meeting and were taken as read. Motion: "That the minutes be accepted as an accurate record of the 2010 Annual general meeting" moved John Rombi, seconded Tony Law, carried unanimously.

3 BUSINESS ARISING OUT OF THE MINUTES

There was no business arising.

4 PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORTS FOR 2010-2011

The 2011 Annual Reports by the President, Treasurer and Auditor, as published in the Annual Report distributed to members prior to the meeting, were taken as read. The Auditor's Report indicated that the Society is in good shape with total assets of \$13,570.14, compared with \$9,264.48 twelve months ago. Membership for the year peaked at 93, including three honorary members. <u>Motion</u>: *"That the Annual Reports presented by the President, Treasurer and Auditor be accepted"* moved John Rombi, seconded Tony Law, carried unanimously.

5 MOTION TO AMEND THE CONSTITUTION

Roger Powell <u>moved</u>: that: (i) the current Constitution of Macarthur Astronomical Society be rescinded; and (ii) the proposed Draft Constitution, as displayed on the Society's website for the last six weeks be adopted as the new constitution of Macarthur Astronomical Society; and

(iii) the old constitution shall remain in force until such time as the new constitution is accepted in writing by The Department of Fair Trading and at least until 1st June 2011."

The motion was seconded by Dick Everett and Roger Powell spoke in favour of the motion. There were no speakers against the motion. There were no questions asked. The motion was put to members, with Tony Law and Roger Powell as scrutineers. There were thirty-one members present who were eligible to vote. There were thirty-one votes in favour and none against. The motion was carried unanimously.

6 PRESENTATION OF TEN YEAR AWARDS

John Rombi presented the following membership awards.: <u>Five year certificates:</u> Henry Swierk, Stewart Grainger, Davy Jones, Debra Taylor, Chris Malikoff, Stewart Cant, Ivan Fox and Tony Law. (Steve Murphy and Graeme Bellamy were absent). <u>Ten year badges:</u> Bob Monckom and Ned Pastor. <u>Fifteen year certificates:</u> Noel Sharpe, Roger Powell and Daniel Ross. (Phillip Ainsworth and Robert Bee were absent).

7 APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER

John Rombi was appointed Returning Officer.

8 ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2011-2012

Nominations closed on 4th April and only one nomination was received for each position. Accordingly, the following were each duly declared elected and the meeting endorsed each by acclamation:

<u>President</u>: Trevor Rhodes; <u>Vice-President</u>: Chris Malikoff; <u>Secretary</u>: Roger Powell; <u>Treasurer</u>: Tony Law. <u>Committee Members</u>: Lloyd Wright, Stewart Grainger and Carol McVeigh.

John Rombi congratulated the new committee and vacated the chair for the President, Trevor Rhodes

9 OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

10 CLOSE OF MEETING

Trevor Rhodes congratulated the new committee and expressed his appreciation to retiring President John Rombi for his untiring and outstanding work on behalf of the Society. He thanked the members for attending.

The Annual General Meeting closed at 8.20 pm and members reconvened as a General Monthly Meeting, with a talk by Daniel Ross and presentation of a donation to the Macquarie Fields High School.

Roger Powell Secretary 19th April 2011