

MACARTHUR ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY MINUTES FOR ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held at UWS Campbelltown Building 30, Main Lecture Theatre 23rd April, 2014 at 7.45pm.

1. OPENING OF MEETING, WELCOME & APOLOGIES

The Annual General Meeting opened at 7.45pm. Present were all members noted in the attendance register. The retiring President, Chris Malikoff, chaired the meeting and the Retiring Acting Secretary, Jack Goralewski, was appointed to take the minutes. Apologies were received from the following members: Stewart Grainer, Jenny Rombi, Debora Taylor, Bryan Pablo.

2. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING: 15th APRIL 2013

The minutes were distributed to all members three weeks prior to the Annual General Meeting. A show of hands by members present indicated that an overwhelming majority had read the minutes. A Motion: "That the minutes be taken as read and accepted as an accurate record of the 2013 Annual General Meeting," was moved by Tony Law, seconded by Laura Bach, and carried unanimously. The President ordered that the minutes be filed in the Secretary's formal records.

3. BUSINESS ARISING OUT OF THE MINUTES

There was no business arising.

4. PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORTS FOR 2012-2013

The 2013 Annual Report was distributed to the members prior to the meeting. Chris Malikoff read the President's Annual Report. He thanked the Committee and other members who had contributed during the year, Prof Brian Gainsler, Vaughn Macefield, Crystal Upton and her team, our Auditor Graeme Bellamy and the members who had attended meetings, observing sessions, fundraising events and assisted with public outreach.

The Annual Financial Reports by the Treasurer and Auditor were taken as read. Graeme Bellamy's audit report showed that the Society is in good shape with total assets of \$23464.08, compared with \$19943.90 twelve months ago. Membership for the year peaked at 108, (an increase of 8 on last year) including three honorary members.

A Motion: "That the Annual Reports presented by the President, Treasurer and Auditor be accepted," was moved Chris Malikoff, seconded Tony Law, carried unanimously.

There was no business arising from the reports. The President ordered that the 2013 Annual Report be filed in the Secretary's formal records. The Annual Report will also form part of these minutes.

5. PRESENTATION OF MEMBERSHIP AWARDS

Chris Malikoff presented the following membership awards:

Five year awards: Dave Wijesinghe(presented), Steve Nicaora(presented), James Tuckwell(posted), Christine Tuckwell(posted), Sarkis Garabedian(posted), Wade McCartney(posted), Peter Elston(posted), Mike Nicholas(presented), Robert Leonard(posted), Sue Leonard(posted), Michael Jupe(presented), Christine Jupe(presented), Ahmad Alcheikh(posted), Barry Moore(presented)

Ten year awards: Stewart Grainger(posted), Tony Law(presented)

Fifteen year awards: Lloyd Wright(presented), Bruce Reardon(posted)

6. APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER

John Rombi was endorsed by the meeting as Returning Officer and Chris Malikoff vacated the chair.

7. ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2013-2014

John Rombi declared all positions vacant and advised that nominations closed on 17th April and only one nomination was received for each position. Accordingly, the following were each duly declared elected and the meeting endorsed each by acclamation:

President: Chris Malikoff; Vice-President: Tony Law; Secretary: Jack Goralewski; Treasurer: Richard Curley;

Committee Members: Stewart Grainger, Henry Swierk and Mike Nicholas.

On behalf of the members, John Rombi congratulated the new committee and wished them well for the coming year. He then vacated the chair for the incoming President, Chris Malikoff.

8. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business directly relating to the Annual General Meeting

9. CLOSE OF MEETING

Chris Malikoff took the chair and thanked the members for their confidence in him. He congratulated the new committee and assured the members that the new committee will continue with their best efforts on behalf of the Society. He thanked the members for attending.

The Annual General Meeting closed at 8.14pm.

Members reconvened as a General Monthly Meeting, with a Q&A Session as well as an introduction to the new MAS website by Chris Malikoff.

Jack Goralewski Secretary

24th April 2014