

MACARTHUR ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY MINUTES FOR ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held at UWS Campbelltown Building 30, Main Lecture Theatre 20th April, 2015 at 7.40pm.

1. OPENING OF MEETING, WELCOME & APOLOGIES

The Annual General Meeting opened at 7.40pm. Present were all members noted in the attendance register. The retiring President, Chris Malikoff, chaired the meeting and the Retiring Secretary, Jack Goralewski, was appointed to take the minutes. Apologies were received from the following members: Matt Randal, Lou Timpano, Jenny Rhombi, Noel Sharpe, Allen Hobbs, Angela Kasier.

2. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING: 23rd APRIL 2014

The minutes were distributed to all members three weeks prior to the Annual General Meeting. A show of hands by members present indicated that an overwhelming majority had read the minutes. A Motion: "That the minutes be taken as read and accepted as an accurate record of the 2014 Annual General Meeting," was moved by Tony Law, seconded by Frank Lauterback, and carried unanimously. The President ordered that the minutes be filed in the Secretary's formal records.

3. BUSINESS ARISING OUT OF THE MINUTES

There was no business arising.

4. PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORTS FOR 2014-2015

The 2014-2015 Annual Report was distributed to the members prior to the meeting. Chris Malikoff read the President's Annual Report. He thanked the Committee and members who had contributed during the year, attending meetings, observing sessions, fundraising events and assisted with public outreach.

Chris gave a special thank you to the staff at UWS, Vance Macefield, Krystal Upston and Rhonda Griffiths for the continual support of the MAS. As a mark of appreciation, these members were given associate memberships to MAS.

The Annual Financial Reports by the Treasurer and Auditor were taken as read. Graeme Bellamy's audit report showed that the Society is in good shape with total assets of \$24994.58, compared with \$23464.08 twelve months ago.

A Motion: "That the Annual Reports presented by the President, Treasurer and Auditor be accepted," was moved Tony Law, seconded Robert Bee, carried unanimously.

There was no business arising from the reports. The President ordered that the 2014-2015 Annual Report be filed in the Secretary's formal records. The Annual Report will also form part of these minutes.

5. PRESENTATION OF MEMBERSHIP AWARDS

Chris Malikoff presented the following membership awards:

Five year awards: Boris Muratovic, Jack Giles

Ten vear awards:

Fifteen year awards: Phillip Kidd

6. APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER

John Rombi was endorsed by the meeting as Returning Officer and Chris Malikoff

vacated the chair.

7. ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2015-2016

John Rombi declared all positions vacant and advised that nominations closed on 13th April and only one nomination was received for each position. Accordingly, the following were each duly declared elected and the meeting endorsed each by acclamation:

President: Tony Law;

Vice-President: Stewart Grainger;

Secretary: Jack Goralewski; Treasurer: Richard Curley;

Committee Members: Henry Swierk, Mike Nicholas, Carol McVeigh.

On behalf of the members, John Rombi congratulated the new committee and wished them well for the coming year. He then vacated the chair for the incoming President, Chris Malikoff.

8. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business directly relating to the Annual General Meeting

9. CLOSE OF MEETING

Tony Law took the chair and thanked the members for their support. He congratulated the new committee and assured the members that the new committee will continue with their best efforts on behalf of the Society. He thanked the members for attending.

The Annual General Meeting closed at 8:00pm.

Members reconvened as a General Monthly Meeting, with a Q&A Session hosted by Tony Law

Jack GoralewskiTony LawSecretaryPresident

3rd May 2015 3rd May 2015