

PO Box 17 MINTO NSW 2566

MACARTHUR ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY
Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2017/18

Held at Western Sydney University Campbelltown Building 30, Main Lecture Theatre Monday 16th April 2018 at 7.30pm

Total Financial members attending 31, Total Visitors attending 2

1. OPENING OF MINUTES, WELCOME AND APOLOGIES:

The annual general meeting opened at 7:41pm Present were members as noted in the attendance record book. The retiring president, Tony Law, chaired the meeting.

Analogies were received from Stawart Crainger, David Manning, Andy Milton, Bob Mankson, Jan Cook

Apologies were received from Stewart Grainger, Dave Manning, Andy Milton, Bob Monkcom, Ian Cook, Daryl Salmon.

2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS AGM for 24th APRIL 2017

Motion: that the previous minutes from the AGM dated 24/4/2017 be taken as read and accepted as an accurate record of the 2016-2017 Annual General Meeting was moved by Roger Powell seconded by Steve Edwards and passed.

The President ordered that the minutes be filed in the secretary's formal records.

3. BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES:

The was no business arising from previous minutes

4. PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORTS FOR 2017-2018

The 2017-2018 annual report was distributed to the members prior to the meeting. Tony Law read the Presidents Annual Report. He thanked the executive committee and members who had contributed during the year by attending meetings, observing sessions, fundraising events and assisting with public outreach.

Carol McVeigh addressed the meeting to express the gratitude of all members for our President's, Tony Law, continued enthusiasm, dedication and hard work he has done this year and in previous years. A hearty "Vote of Thanks" was given by applause and three cheers from all present.

The Treasurer, Richard Curley read the annual report by the Treasurer. The Auditor's report was distributed and taken as read. Graeme Bellamy's audit report showed that the Society is in good shape with total assets of \$28082.62 compared with \$28824.05 twelve months ago.

Motion: "That the Annual reports presented by the President, Treasurer and Auditor for 2017-2018 be accepted" was moved by Tony Law, Seconded by Carol McVeigh and was carried.

There was no business arising from the reports.

The President ordered that the 2017-2018 Annual Report be filed in the secretary's formal records. The annual report will also form part of these minutes.

Macarthur Astronomical Society ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Minutes, 16 April 2018 Page 1 of 3

5. PRESENTATION OF MEMBERSHIP AWARDS:

Tony Law announced the following membership awards. Those *highlighted* were presented

Five year: Laura Bach, *Richard Curley*, Paul Auer, Frank Lauterbach, Angela Kaiser-Lauterbach, Alexander Massey, Mark Johnston.

Ten Year: Ray Armstrong, Michael Clarke, Jessie Clarke, Dana Clarke, Matthew White, Jack White.

Fifteen year: Henry Swierk.

Twenty year: **Lou Timpano**.

6. APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER:

Roger Powell was endorsed by the meeting as returning officer and Tony Law vacated the chair.

7. ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2017-2018

The returning officer, Roger Powell declared all management committee positions for the Macarthur Astronomical Society Inc. vacant and advised that nominations had closed. The following nominations and 1 decline (due to ill health) had been received.

President - Tony Law, by Richard Curley, seconded Barry Moore
Vice President - Withdrawn 9/4/2018, due to illness
Secretary - Barry Moore by Tony Law, seconded Carol McVeigh
Treasurer - Andy Milton by Tony Law, seconded Richard Curley
Membership Officer - Henry Swierk by Carol McVeigh, seconded Richard Curley
Committee member1 - John Rombi by Barry Moore, seconded Stewart Grainger
Committee member2 - Ray Armstrong by Tony Law, seconded Barry Moore

There were no duplicate nominations.

The returning officer declared the position of President to be Tony Law and this was ratified by the acclamation of the membership.

From the meeting floor the nomination for the position of Vice President - Ray Armstrong was moved by Tony Law and Seconded by John Rombi.

There was no other nomination for Vice President. The returning officer declared the Position of Vice - President to be Ray Armstrong and this was ratified by the acclamation of the membership.

The returning officer declared as there were no duplicate nominations for the following positions. Each in turn were declared as filled by the returning officer and ratified by acclamation of the membership.

Secretary - Barry Moore Treasurer - Andy Milton

Membership Officer - Henry Swierk Committee member1 - John Rombi

From the meeting floor the nomination for the position of Committee member 2 - Greg Bradford was moved by Tony Law and Seconded by John Rombi.

Macarthur Astronomical Society ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Minutes, 16 April 2018 Page 2 of 3

There was no other nomination for Committee Member2. The returning officer declared the Position of Committee member2 to be Greg Bradford and this was ratified by the acclamation of the membership.

In Summary the following is the duly elected executive committee of the Macarthur Astronomical Society Inc for the period 16 April 2018 to the AGM on Mon 15th April 2019

President - Tony Law

Vice President - Ray Armstrong Secretary - Barry Moore

Treasurer - Andy Milton

Membership Officer - Henry Swierk

Committee member1 - John Rombi

Committee member2 - Greg Bradford

On behalf of the membership, Roger Powell, congratulated the new committee and wished them well for the coming year. He then vacated the chair for the incoming President Tony Law.

Tony asked the membership to consider assisting the executive in their capacity as a merchandise sales officer as this important position needs to be done for our club and does not necessarily fall on to the Vice President or a Committee member.

8 OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business

9 CLOSE OF MEETING

The President, Tony Law, thanked the membership for their support and attendance.

The Annual General Meeting closed at 8.16pm

Barry Moore, Secretary 23 April, 2018

Tony Law, President 23 April, 2018