m <u>s</u>	MACARTHUR ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2018/19
PO Box 17 MINTO NSW 2566	Held at Western Sydney University Campbelltown Building 30, Main Lecture Theatre Monday 15 th April 2019 at 7.30pm Total Financial members attending 41, Total Visitors attending 9
	Total Financial members attenuing 41, 10tal Visitors attenuing 9

1. OPENING OF MINUTES, WELCOME AND APOLOGIES:

The annual general meeting opened at 7:40pm. Present were members as noted in the attendance record book. The retiring president, Tony Law, chaired the meeting. No Apologies were received.

2. PRESENTATION OF MEMBERSHIP AWARDS:

Tony Law announced the following membership awards. Those *highlighted* were presented

Five year: Masayoshi Nagaya, Matthew Randal, Suzanne Adijans, Allen Williams, James Wall, Rob Moscrop, Ralph Imber, Shirley Imber, Phillip Carey, Bob Siegel Ten Year: Mohammed Baddah, Jennifer Rombi, Carol McVeigh Fifteen year: Nil Twenty year: Daniel Ross, George Cruickshank, Ursula Braatz, John Rombi, Lloyd Wright

3. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS AGM for 16th APRIL 2018

Motion: that the previous minutes from the AGM dated 16/4/2018 be taken as read and accepted as an accurate record of the 2017-2018 Annual General Meeting was moved by Tony Law seconded by Jenny Rombi and passed.

The President ordered that the minutes be filed in the secretary's formal records.

4. BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES:

The was no business arising from previous minutes

5. PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORTS FOR 2018-2019

The 2018-2019 annual report was distributed to the members prior to the meeting. Tony Law read the Presidents Annual Report. He thanked the executive committee and members who had contributed during the year by attending meetings, observing sessions, fundraising events and assisting with public outreach.

The Treasurer, Andy Milton read the annual report by the Treasurer. The Auditor's report was distributed and taken as read. Graeme Bellamy's audit report showed that the Society is in good shape with total assets of \$30,945.58 compared with \$28,082.62 twelve months ago.

Roger Powell addressed the meeting to express the gratitude of all members for our President's, Tony Law, continued enthusiasm, dedication and hard work he has done this year and in previous years. A hearty "Vote of Thanks" was given by applause from all present.

Motion: "That the Annual reports presented by the President, Treasurer and Auditor for 2018-2019 be accepted" was moved by Tony Law Seconded by Greg Bradford and was Passed

There was no business arising from the reports.

The President ordered that the 2018-2019 Annual Report be filed in the secretary's formal records. The annual report will also form part of these minutes.

6. APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER:

Roger Powell was endorsed by the meeting as returning officer and Tony Law vacated the chair.

7. ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2018-2019

The returning officer, Roger Powell declared all management committee positions for the Macarthur Astronomical Society Inc. vacant and advised that nominations had closed. The following nominations had been received.

President – Allan Hobbs, by Tony Law, seconded John Rombi Vice President – John Rombi, by Greg Bradford, seconded by Brendan Waterhouse Secretary - Barry Moore by Tony Law, seconded Ray Armstrong Treasurer - Andy Milton by Barry Moore, seconded Tony Law Membership Officer - Henry Swierk by Barry Moore, seconded Greg Bradford Committee member1 - Phil Kidd by, Tony Law, seconded Ric Forster Committee member2 – Greg Bradford by Karyn Bradford, seconded Barry Moore

There being no duplicate nominations, the returning officer declared the following persons duly elected

The duly elected executive committee of the Macarthur Astronomical Society Inc for the period 15 April 2019 to the AGM on Mon 20th April 2020

President - Allan Hobbs Vice President - John Rombi Secretary - Barry Moore Treasurer - Andy Milton Membership Officer - Henry Swierk Committee member1 - Phil Kidd Committee member2 – Greg Bradford

On behalf of the membership, Roger Powell, congratulated the new committee and wished them well for the coming year. He then vacated the chair for the incoming President Allan Hobbs

8 CLOSE OF MEETING

The Incoming President, Allan Hobbs thanked the membership for their support and attendance. The Annual General Meeting closed at 7:58pm

Barry Moore, Secretary 15 April, 2019 Allan Hobbs, President 15 April, 2019