

PO Box 17 MINTO NSW 2566

# MACARTHUR ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2019-2020

Held by Zoom conference, hosted by John Rombi V.P. MAS 2019-20

Scheduled for Monday 20th April 2020 at 7.30pm

Total Financial members attending 40, Total Visitors attending 0

## 1. OPENING OF MINUTES, WELCOME AND APOLOGIES:

The annual general meeting opened at 7:44pm. Present were members as noted by two screen captures of the on line Zoom Meeting held in the folder "2020AGM" by the secretary of the club. The retiring President, Allan Hobbs chaired the meeting. No Apologies were received.

#### 2. PRESENTATION OF MEMBERSHIP AWARDS:

Allan Hobbs announced the following membership awards. Awards will be posted to the awardees.

Five year certificate: Daryl Salmon, Stephen Edwards, Robert Sona

Ten Year badge and certificate: Dave Wijesinghe, Pete Elston, Michael Nicholas,

Michael Jupe, Christine Jupe, Bryan Gaensler, Barry Moore, Borislav Muratovic

Fifteen year certificate: Tony Law, Stewart Grainger

Twenty year badge and Certificate: Nil

#### 3. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS AGM for 15th APRIL 2019

**Motion:** that the previous minutes from the AGM dated 15/4/2019 be taken as read and accepted as an accurate record of the 2018-2019 Annual General Meeting was moved by Allan Hobbs seconded by Tony Law and passed.

The President ordered that the minutes be filed in the secretary's formal records.

## 4. BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES:

The was no business arising from previous minutes

## 5. PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORTS FOR 2019-2020

The 2019-2020 annual report was distributed to the members prior to the meeting. Allan Hobbs read the Presidents Annual Report. He thanked the executive committee and members who had contributed during the year by attending meetings, observing sessions, fundraising events and assisting with public outreach.

The Treasurer, Andy Milton table the annual report as the Treasurer. The Auditor's report was distributed and taken as read. Graeme Bellamy's audit report showed that the Society is in good shape with total assets of\$35474.74 compared with \$30,945.58 twelve months ago.

**Motion**: "That the Annual reports presented by the President, Treasurer and Auditor for 2019-2020 be accepted" was moved by Allan Hobbs Seconded by John Rombi and was Passed

There was no business arising from the reports.

The President ordered that the 2019-2020 Annual Report be filed in the secretary's formal records. The annual report will also form part of these minutes.

Macarthur Astronomical Society ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING minutes, 20 April 2020 Page 1 of 2

#### 6. APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER:

Roger Powell was endorsed by the meeting as returning officer and Allan Hobbs vacated the chair.

#### 7. ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2019-2020

The returning officer, Roger Powell declared all management committee positions for the Macarthur Astronomical Society Inc. vacant and advised that nominations had closed. The following nominations had been received prior to the cut off date of 5<sup>th</sup> April 2020.

President	John Rombi	Jenny Rombi	Phil Kidd
Vice President	Noel Sharpe	Michael Mirecki	Eric Brown
Secretary	Richard Curley	Tony Law	Allan Hobbs
Treasurer	Andrew Milton	Tony Law	Phil Kidd
Committee Position	Henry Swierk	Phil Kidd	<b>Greg Bradford</b>
Committee Position	Greg Bradford	Phil Kidd	Henry Swierk
Committee Position	Phil Kidd	Roger Powell	Jennifer Rombi
Committee Position	Dave Manning	John Rombi	Barry Moore

Note: Richard Curley also nominated for a committee position.

There being no duplicate nominations, the returning officer declared the following persons duly elected

The duly elected executive committee of the Macarthur Astronomical Society Inc for the period 20 April 2020 to the AGM on Mon 19<sup>th</sup> April 2021

President - John Rombi
Vice President - Noel Sharpe
Secretary - Richard Curley
Treasurer - Andrew Milton
Membership Officer - Henry Swierk
Committee member1 - Greg Bradford
Committee member2 - Phil Kidd
Committee member3 - Dave Manning

On behalf of the membership, Roger Powell, congratulated the new committee and wished them well for the coming year. He then vacated the chair for the incoming President John Rombi.

## **8 CLOSE OF MEETING**

The Incoming President, John Rombi thanked the membership for their support and attendance. The Annual General Meeting closed at 8:33pm

Richard Curley, Secretary

John Rombi, President

20 April, 2020

20 April, 2020