

MINUTES

of

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Online conference Monday 18th April 2022 at 6.45 pm

1. OPENING OF MINUTES, WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

The AGM opened at 6.49 pm. The meeting was held online due to the on-going pandemic. President John Rombi had lost his voice and vacated the chair in favour of Vice-President Noel Sharpe.

Twenty-two members were present at the commencement of the AGM: Jenny Rombi, John Rombi, Tony Law, Noel Sharpe, Karyn Bradford, Greg Bradford, Barry Moore, Dick Everett, Ursula Bratz, Robert McGoven, Jenny Kidd, Phillip Kidd, Dave Manning, Nicole Ireland, Carol McVeigh, Allen Williams, Michael Wells, Mark Fisher, Peter Scott, Michael Nicholas, Joan Powell, Roger Powell & Kerri Reynolds.

It was noted that more members joined as the AGM progressed, including: Andy Milton, Frank Alvaro, George Cruikshank, Peter Elston, Ric Foster, Carole Lane, Stewart Grainger & Jean Haavasalu.

Apology received from Sam Mathanarajan.

Noel Sharpe thanked members for attending and recorded the meeting's sorrow at the sudden loss of Membership Officer Henry Swierk during the year. Noel proposed that Roger Powell be appointed by the meeting to take the minutes. Accepted.

2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The minutes of the 2021 AGM were circulated to members prior to the meeting. Motion: "That the minutes from the AGM dated 20th April 2021 be taken as read and accepted as an accurate record." Moved by Noel Sharpe, seconded by John Rombi. Motion carried unanimously. The Vice-President ordered that the minutes be filed in the secretary's formal records.

3. BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES

There was no business arising from previous minutes

4. PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORTS FOR 2021-2022

The 2021-2022 Annual Report document was distributed to the members prior to the meeting. John Rombi's Presidents Report was taken as read. Andy Milton's Treasurer's report and Graeme Bellamy's Auditor's report was read by Noel Sharpe. Total assets were \$39,079.40 compared to \$37,664.86 twelve months ago.

Motion: "That the Annual reports for 2021-2022 be accepted". Moved by Roger Powell seconded by Jenny Rombi. Motion carried unanimously.

There was no business arising from the reports. The President ordered that the 2021-2022 Annual Report be filed in the secretary's formal records.

5. PRESENTATION OF MEMBERSHIP AWARDS

Noel Sharpe announced the following membership awards, which will be posted to the awardees or presented at an observing session:

Five year certificate:	Richard Barwell, Sharyl Scott, Ron Radzieta, Neil Weerasinghe, Sharmini Weerasinghe, Annemarie Henessey		
Ten Year badge and certificate:	Allan Hobbs, Peter Scott, James Scott, Mark Johnston		
Fifteen year certificate:	Chris Malikoff, Graeme Bellamy		
Twenty year badge and certificate:	Bob Monkcom		
Twenty-five year certificate:	Phillip Ainsworth, Noel Sharpe, Roger Powell, Ragbir Bhathal, Ian Cook, Dick Everett		

John Rombi briefly thanked all members for their support during the year.

6. APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER:

The outgoing Vice-President, Noel Sharpe proposed Tony Law as the returning officer and the proposal was endorsed by the meeting. Noel Sharpe then vacated the chair.

7. ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2022-2023

Tony Law declared all management committee positions for Macarthur Astronomical Society Inc. vacant and advised that the following nominations had been received by the Secretary prior to the closing of nominations on 4th April 2022.

POSITION	NOMINEE	NOMINATOR	SECONDER
President	John Rombi	Jennifer Rombi	Greg Bradford
Vice-President	Noel Sharpe	Tony Law	Chris Malikoff
Treasurer	Andy Milton	John Rombi	Jennifer Rombi
Secretary	Roger Powell	John Rombi	Jennifer Rombi
Committee Member	Dave Manning	John Rombi	Jennifer Rombi
Committee Member	Greg Bradford	Karyn Bradford	John Rombi
Committee Member	Phillip Kidd	Jennie Kidd	Jennifer Rombi

There being no duplicate nominations, Tony Law declared each nominee duly elected to the Macarthur Astronomical Society Inc. Management Committee for 2022-23. The declaration was <u>unanimously endorsed</u> with applause by the meeting.

On behalf of the membership, Tony Law congratulated the new management committee and wished them well for the coming year. He then vacated the chair for the incoming Vice-President Noel Sharpe.

8. OTHER BUSINESS DIRECTLY RELEVANT TO THE AGM.

There was no other business.

9. CLOSE OF MEETING

The Incoming Vice-President, Noel Sharpe thanked the membership for their attendance and support.

The Annual General Meeting closed at 7.05 pm and the meeting continued as a Monthly General Meeting (Macarthur Astronomy Forum).

Roger Powell, Secretary 19th April 2022 John Rombi President 19th April 2022