MACARTHUR ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY Incorporated



www.macastro.org.au

MINUTES

of

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held at Western Sydney University with online participation via Zoom Monday 15th April 2024 at 6.45 pm

1. OPENING OF MINUTES, WELCOME AND APOLOGIES

President John Rombi opened the meeting at 6.50 pm and welcomed participants at WSU and online.

Those attending at WSU			Those attending on Zoom	
John Rombi	Jenny Rombi	Greg Bradford	Joan Powell	Roger Powell
Phil Kidd	Tony Law	Daniel Ross	Neville Arnott	Ric Forster
Frank Alvaro	Lloyd Wright	Lou Timpano	Robert Duncan	Jean Haavasalu
Colin Pettit	Robert McGoven	Ray Armstrong	Anthony Muscio	Peter Scott
Noel Sharpe	Mike Nicholas	Noel Sharpe	Mark Fischer	Roberto Soria
Carol McVeigh	Barry Moore	Suzanne Adijans	Darren Nichol	Dick Everett
lan Cook	George Cruikshank	Ben Southwell	Michael Clark	Richard Curley

Apologies received from Gusztav Belansky and Stewart Grainger. John Rombi thanked members for attending. The meeting accepted his proposal that Roger Powell be appointed to take the minutes.

2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The minutes of the 2023 AGM were circulated to members prior to the meeting and were taken as read.

Motion: "That the minutes be accepted as a true record of the 2023 AGM", moved by John Rombi, seconded by Jenny Rombi. Motion carried unanimously. The President ordered that the minutes be filed in the Society's formal records.

3. BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES

There was no business arising from the previous minutes

4. PRESENTATION OF ANNUAL REPORTS FOR 2022-2023

The 2023-2024 combined Annual Report was published eight days before the meeting. It includes reports from the President (John Rombi), Treasurer (Noel Sharpe), Auditor (Graeme Bellamy), Vice-president (Noel Sharpe), Secretary (Roger Powell) and Telescope Custodian (Greg Bradford).

John Rombi read his President's Report. Noel Sharpe read his Treasurer's Report and Vice President's Report. The remaining reports were taken as read.

Motion: "That the Annual reports for 2023-2024 be accepted". Moved John Rombi, seconded Roger Powell. Carried unanimously.

There was no business arising from the reports. The President ordered that the 2024 Annual Report be filed in the secretary's formal records.

5. PRESENTATION OF MEMBERSHIP AWARDS

John Rombi announced the membership awards, which were presented in person if in attendance and will be posted to those who were not present at WSU.

5 Year Awards Howard Pew; Joan Powell, Marie Curley; Isabella Curley; David Kind; Sanjay Sengupta;

Manisha Basu; Damian Case; Neville Arnott; Rita Currie; Eric Kingston; Alison Ford;

Eric Brown; Sarkis Garabedian; Andre Sarkis.

10 Year Awards Masayoshi Nagaya; Suzanne Adijans; Allen Williams; James Wall; Rob Moscrop; Ralph

Imber; Shirley Imber; Phillip Carey; Bob Siegel.

15 Year Awards Mohammed Baddah; Jennifer Rombi; Carol McVeigh.

25 Year Awards Lou Timpano; George Cruickshank; Ursula Braatz, John Rombi, Lloyd Wright.

6. APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICER:

John Rombi thanked all members for their support during the year and proposed Tony Law as the Returning Officer. The proposal was endorsed by the meeting and John Rombi vacated the chair.

7. ELECTION OF MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2024-2025

Tony Law took the chair and thanked John for his strong leadership of the Society. He declared vacant all management committee positions and advised that one nomination had been received for each vacancy, prior to the closing of nominations on 1st April 2024. The validity of the seven nominations was certified.

Position	Nominee	Nominator	Seconder
President	John Rombi	Jennifer Rombi	Roger Powell
Vice-President	Noel Sharpe	Tony Law	Barry Moore
Treasurer	Suzanne Adijans	John Rombi	Jennifer Rombi
Secretary	Roger Powell	Joan Powell	John Rombi
Membership Officer	Frank Alvaro	John Rombi	Greg Bradford
Committee Member	Phillip Kidd	Jennie Kidd	John Rombi
Committee Member	Greg Bradford	Karyn Bradford	Roger Powell

There being no duplicate nominations, Tony Law declared each of the seven nominees duly elected to the Macarthur Astronomical Society Inc. Management Committee for 2024-25. The declarations were unanimously endorsed by the meeting.

On behalf of the membership, Tony Law congratulated the new management committee and wished them well for the coming year. Tony then vacated the chair for the re-elected President John Rombi.

8. OTHER BUSINESS DIRECTLY RELEVANT TO THE AGM.

There was no other business.

9. CLOSE OF MEETING

The President, John Rombi thanked the membership for their participation and support. The Annual General Meeting closed at 7.42 pm and continued as a Monthly General Meeting (Macarthur Astronomy Forum).

Minutes: Roger Powell, Secretary 16th April 2024 Chair: John Rombi President 16th April 2023